Skip to main content

College of Agricultural and Life Sciences

College of Agricultural and Life Sciences

Alpha Zeta

Alpha Zeta is an honorary, professional society for students and industry professionals in the agriculture and natural resources fields. Founded in 1897 at Ohio State University, Alpha Zeta is the first and oldest collegiate society for agriculture. Today, Alpha Zeta has more than 115,000 alumni and more than 3,000 student members at 74 universities. We take pride in our commitment to the highest levels of scholarship, leadership, integrity and service.


Alpha Zeta is the professional agricultural organization dedicated to the highest levels of scholarship, leadership, integrity and service.


Alpha Zeta is a global network of diverse agricultural and natural resources professionals recognizing, developing and promoting leaders with common values and integrity.


On November 4, 1897, Charles Burkett, John Cunningham and ten other agriculture students founded Alpha Zeta at The Ohio State University to promote agriculture as a profession through recognition and development of scholarship, leadership, character and fellowship within the college of agriculture.

The purpose of Alpha Zeta is to promote agriculture and life sciences on campus and throughout the community. Alpha Zeta provides many opportunities for high scholastic students to join and become involved in many different activities. There are social advantages as well as chances to grow in character, leadership, and scholarship.

Today, the Florida Chapter of Alpha Zeta is the largest Alpha Zeta Chapter throughout the nation. Our Chapter is involved in campus events as well as service, social, and fundraising throughout the community. Each fall and spring semester, students from the top 40% of the University of Florida's prestigious College of Agricultural and Life Sciences are invited to join. These students will participate in a semester long pledging process before induction into our prestigious honors fraternity. Only the top students with the highest character and leadership skills will be inducted into Alpha Zeta.

For more on the history of Alpha Zeta visit: Alpha Zeta History


Pledging is an eight-week process and occurs during the fall and spring semesters and includes weekly pledge meetings; five hours each of service, fundraising, social events; potluck; and initiation. Throughout the process the pledge class will plan events and make a paddle to have signed by current members and alumni at the University of Florida.

Meet the Officer Board

Leadership Conference & Awards


Jaimie Wargo, Chancellor

Whitney Wilgus, Nationals Contact

Mailing Address:
2020 McCarty Hall D
PO Box 110270
Gainesville, FL 32611